THE Brexit party will not put a candidate up for election in Halesowen and Rowley Regis.

The party was set to announce a replacement after it kicked out Andrew England Kerr (pictured above), but Nigel Farage has now confirmed the party will not stand candidates in the 317 seats won by the Conservatives at the 2017 general election.

Halesowen and Rowley Regis was won by Conservative James Morris MP, who has pledged to get Brexit done, in 2017.

Stourbridge's Brexit Party candidate Aaron Hudson is also out of the race to the polls after Nigel Farage's announcement.

Former Dudley South Brexit Party candidate Paul Brothwood had already quit the party and switched to the Conservatives to help Tory Mike Wood retain his seat in order to see Brexit done.

Mr Brothwood said he was chuffed to hear Mr Farage’s announcement that he would not put up candidates in seats won by the Tories in 2017.

He said “I’m pleased that Brexit Party candidates such as myself who stood down have been vindicated.

"It would have been crazy for Nigel to stand against the Conservatives who are the only party who can deliver Brexit.”

Halesowen and Rowley Regis was a heavily Leave-voting seat in the 2016 referendum - with Leave taking 66.59 per cent of the vote and 33.41 per cent of voters backing Remain.

The general election will be held on December 12.

Standing in Halesowen are James Morris for the Tories, Ian Cooper for Labour and Ryan Priest for the Lib Dems.

Ryan Priest said: "Boris Johnson's Conservatives and the Brexit party are now one and the same.

"Both want to see an extreme Brexit that will damage our local economy, public services and limit opportunities for our children and grandchildren.

"Voters in Halesowen and Rowley Regis have a historic opportunity at this election to elect a Liberal Democrat MP, stop Brexit and build a brighter future for our country."