Tonight is the big night as we prepare to celebrate the borough’s finest at our first Dudley Community Awards in partnership with the University of Worcester.

The event seeks to highlight all the wonderful things happening across the Dudley Borough and to shine a light on our region and its many success stories as reflected in our newspapers every day.

The awards, which are spread out across 12 categories, will offer an opportunity to recognise the individuals and organisations that go the extra mile for the community.

The 12 award categories and nominees for this year are:

Business of the Year sponsored by: BRSK

Bee Well Groups Ltd

Dudley Canal & Tunnel Trust

Tax Assist Accountants

New Business of the Year sponsored by: Tax Assist Accountants



Meadow View Mutts Secure Dog Field

Best Customer Service sponsored by: My Dudley

Esther Alterations

LD Training Services Limited

Vanessa Purvin, Independence at Home Ltd

Best Independent Trader of the Year sponsored by: Stourbridge Automotive Ltd

Broadmark Doors

Cousins Furniture

Dreamland Furniture

Best Eating Establishment or Bar of the Year sponsored by: L D Training Ltd

The Fellows

Five Spice

Il Michelangelos

Best Community Project or Group sponsored by: Tipton Building Society

Halesowen Business Improvement District

Ladies Fighting Breast Cancer

We Love Carers

Best Volunteer or Fundraiser of the Year sponsored by: Steven Eagell Toyota

Andrea Childs, Beth’s Sunflowers Supporting Blood Cancer Charities

Sally Philpotts, Mary Stevens Hospice

Diana Thomas-Smout, Talkin’ Tables

Sports Team or Club of the Year sponsored by: Broadmark Doors

Dudley Town Football Club

Elite Dragon Martial Arts

Team Pumpkin Boxing

Teacher of the Year sponsored by: BRSK

Jo Davis, Dudley College of Technology

Ross Nicholls, Halesowen College

Dr Philemon Opoku, L D Training Services Limited

Environmental Project of the Year sponsored by: Guardian Jewellery

Dudley Canal and Tunnels Trust

Meristem Design

Sally Philpotts, Mary Stevens Hospice

Young Person of the Year sponsored by: BRSK

Aisha Anam, Dudley College

Luke Collins, Team Pumpkin Boxing

Emily Legg, The Wenlock School

Diversity in the Community Award sponsored by: National Grid

Beacon Center

Tina Boothroyd, Access in Dudley

Wheely Different Theatre Company

Outstanding Commitment to Dudley

This category is selected from the other category winners and will be the overall winner of the Dudley Community Awards 2023.

The awards will be hosted tonight (Thursday, November 23) at 7pm by Lee Benson at the Copthorne Hotel.

We will be reporting from the ceremony later so stay tuned for our live blog to find out who takes home the prestigious awards.

More updates to follow.